mermaids

What a Difference a Day Makes

Posted on: 4 May, 09

image When I was at the middle school to do end of year testing, the school nurse asked why C was absent.  I told her about his symptoms: fever, body aches, chills, sore throat, lethargy, etc.  Because Hubski is just getting over it and J also has it, she suggested I call the pediatrician.  The boys are sick, but not so sick that they need any sort of medical care, but we were both thinking “Oink, oink?” 

The doctor said had I called yesterday, he would have asked me to bring the boys in for swine flu testing.  Since the testing guidelines from the CDC are changing almost hourly, my phone call squeaked in the window of not requiring testing.  The pediatrician’s office is an hour away so we don’t actually go into the office unless a limb is falling off. 

The wonderful doc and I chatted about this whole swine flu issue.  Media hype or something to be worried about?  The cases in the US seem to be rather mild, no worse than the regular flu.  We don’t close entire schools because a few students have the regular flu.  Is it really necessary to close schools for this flu?  Obviously, hindsight is twenty-twenty and I would rather err on the side of caution when it comes to possible pandemics. 

Do my boys have the swine flu?  The doctor said it is certainly possible.  Hubski traveled to NYC, near the school that was shut down, a couple weeks ago.  A few days later, he got “flu-like” symptoms.  A few days ago, J came down with the same thing.  C got sick on Saturday.  (Please, please don’t let me be next!)  They definitely look like they have a flu.  Is it the flu?  The doctor said, “If looks like a pig, oinks like a pig, it could very well be a pig.”  It is more weird to get the regular flu this time a year, so swine flu fits better.

We discussed testing.  Would it change anything except some statistics on the CDC website?  No.  I will keep the boys home until they are well, though they were most contagious before we knew they were sick.  I have bleached and washed everything in the house.  Hand sanitizer is everywhere.  The antiviral drugs have to be administered within 24-48 hours of symptom onset, so it is too late for that. 

The doctor said the CDC keeps changing the guidelines as new cases are confirmed and new data comes in.  This evening, after I talked to the doctor, a couple new cases were confirmed in our state.  If I had waited until tomorrow morning to call, would our conversation be different?  Would my boys become statistics?  It is hard to say.  If there were not all this media coverage, I would not give a second thought to the boys being sick.  I would feed them chicken soup, let them watch too much television, and send them back to school when they recovered.  That is exactly what I am doing anyway.  Do they have swine flu?  Maybe.  Does it really matter?  Not so much. 

Tags:

8 Responses to "What a Difference a Day Makes"

I’m with you. A little common sense just makes so much sense. 😉 I get tired of the media hype of everything. If someone had an ingrown hair and the media could dramatize it and spin fear into it, I swear, I think they would.

Wow, teri, take care of yourself and your entire family. I will be thinking of you.

Oh Teri, I hope your family gets well soon. It is amazing how many facts I have learned about the flu due to this whole swine thing. I think you are doing the right thing, and they have said many times that is more dangerous for the young and the elderly. Since your boys are older and healthy, I am sure it is just a virus.
You should think about getting a mask and wearing it in the house. LOL. Cannot wait to see a picture of that! (Love that pig btw.)
P.S.
If I hear just one incident of a flu in my city, I am pulling the kids out of school for the rest of the year…….

given the year your little ones have dad with illness, i would not blame you
for taking them out of school. unfortunately for my guys, missing a day of
high school is a big deal. c is technically still in middle school, but he
is taking 3 high school level courses. his grades in these classes will
appear on his high school transcripts, the one needed for college
applications. eek! we are keeping in touch with their teachers about the
best way to catch up on assignments. this is a bad time of year to miss
school…
teri

https://mermaids.wordpress.com/
A party without cake is really just a meeting… ~Julia Child

given the year your little ones have had with illness, i would not blame you for taking them out of school. unfortunately for my guys, missing a day of high school is a big deal. c is technically still in middle school, but he is taking 3 high school level courses. his grades in these classes will appear on his high school transcripts, the one needed for college applications. eek! we are keeping in touch with their teachers about the best way to catch up on assignments. this is a bad time of year to miss school…

I hope your boys feel better soon !

Sanity is prevailing and they are opening the previously shut schools here. I agree – no one bats an eye for the seasonal flu and it killed two previously healthy teenagers in central Maryland this winter! And lots more others! Hope the guys recover quickly so they don’t miss too much school! Maybe instead of chicken soup they should have ham and bean soup?

I hope everyone feels better soon, Teri.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

