mermaids

Zapped

Posted on: 30 May, 09

For once, I did not mind going to physical therapy.  The last couple of weeks, I have been working with a therapist who makes Jillian from The Biggest Loser look like cream puff.  I started iontophoresis treatments.  A liquid steroid is put on a special patch that is hooked up to electrodes.  The electric current drives the medication deep into the joint.  It took a few tries to find the right voltage setting, somewhere between Taser gun setting and licking a nine volt battery.  The therapist said it would take about forty-five minutes to complete the treatment.  “Would you like for me to close the door and turn down the lights?”  Yes!  A nap!!  I totally fell asleep.  He came in a few times to turn up the voltage a bit, but he tried to not disturb me.  The plan is to do this (and nap) two to three times a week for a few weeks.  Next, I will be more prepared… mp3 player, comfy clothes, Crackberry, a book perhaps.  After the week I had, getting zapped was just what I needed. 

I don’t know if it is helping my knee, but it sure helped my stress level. 

2 Responses to "Zapped"

Hope this treatment works for you. Hummm–I wonder if you can do some hand sewing laying on your back?

That is great. I could always fall asleep in the dentist chair waiting for him to arrive. I hope next time you have the same luck!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

