mermaids

About a Boy

Posted on: 31 May, 09

The eighth grade awards ceremony is a little over a week away.  Some students come in three piece suits and sequined prom dresses.  Some students wear the same basketball shorts and t-shirts that they wear to class every day.  We are shooting for somewhere in between… nicer than C wears every day, but not as formal as he will wear to his wedding. 

C asked if he could help me make a new shirt.  Believe it or not, but I did not have anything suitable in my stash.  The selection at JoAnn’s was slim, but there is not time to order fabric.  We found this cotton that has a sort of hand dyed effect. 

I would have preferred to use an Ottobre pattern, but he has outgrown them.  I think I am more verklempt about that than I am about him starting high school.  Fortunately, I still have an old Simplicity pattern I used years ago to make a gift for friend. 

C’s first lesson was “always prewash the fabric.”  After dinner, I showed him how to figure out which pieces are needed and how to lay out the pieces on the grainline.  After cutting, he had to get back to studying for finals. 

Given the deadline, it will be difficult to find enough time for C to do all the sewing.  More specifically, it will be difficult to find enough time for me to teach him how to make a shirt with a collar stand.  I will definitely work it out so he can sew the easier parts.  It is going to be a crazy week, but we will make it work. 

5 Responses to "About a Boy"

I just have to tell you that I accidentally skipped a line reading this in Google Reader, which produced this sentence: “Some students come in three piece suits and sequined shorts and t-shirts that they wear to class every day.” I was trying to picture what sequined shorts and t-shirts some students might wear to class.

Wow – such a driven guy! I like the choice of fabric, with it’s batik-y effect. Hope it all goes well.

Teri, what a great kid you have… Can’t wait to see the shirt!

Good luck with that project. I’ll be looking forward to seeing the finished shirt.

What a great project! Good luck getting it done.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

