mermaids

Bring on the Braid

Posted on: 26 June, 09

Summer is my favorite time of year because I get to wear cute little tops like this: 

 

The pattern is Design #8 from the 02/09 issue of Ottobre Woman.  I added some shirring just under the bust line to give it more shape.  For the straps, I wanted something more special than just a drawstring.  I cut three strips of fabric 3/4 inch wide and 30 inches long.  The fabric was folded into thirds and pressed.  I stitched the length of the strips with an alternating zig zag stitch to cover the exposed raw edge.  Folding the raw edges in would have resulted in four layers of fabric.  I thought that would make them too bulky to braid.  It was challenging to braid the fabric, yet avoid a heavy look.  To join the two ends of the braided, I used a wide zig zag.  Not too attractive.  I was a little concerned about the braid shifting around, revealing that nasty little bit.  I pulled it to the center back and hand tacked it in place on the inside.  No more worries about things sliding out that shouldn’t.  The fabric is a border print from Fabrix in San Francisco.  I thought it might be a skirt, but I am glad it became this top instead. 

8 Responses to "Bring on the Braid"

That is positively stunning!! I LOVE the braid idea. Don’t be surprised if you see something “inspired by mermaids” in my photostream soon…

What a great top.

Beautiful. Your border print looks great in that top. Perfect for the summer.

Cute top. Good job on those straps.

Cute!

My daughter had been considering this top (at age 13 she’s slightly larger than I am, so she looks through Ottobre Woman now — yikes!). I think your updates are fantastic. I may even consider it for myself now!

I love your top – the fabric and the braided straps are perfect!

Very cute and it looks super simple to make – except for the shirring and the braiding and those are awesome little customizations.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

