mermaids

In the Pink (and Green)

Posted on: 30 June, 09

Baby sewing is my favorite sewing.  Baby girl sewing is even better. This recipient of this gift is due to make her grand arrival any minute.  The pattern is Design #1 from the 03/07 issue of Ottobre Design.  The fabric is a calico that has been in my stash for many years. 

I followed the pattern with the exception of the sleeves.  I added a small inverted pleat so the sleeve would not be so wide.  Bias tape was used to bind the neck edge, hem and sleeves.  It adds a bit of color and gives a nice, clean finish. 

My original plan for the center front embellishment was three small ribbon roses.  I thought I had some pale pink ones in my stash, but no.  I debated what to do instead.  Running to the store was not an option.  Instead, I used a decorative stitch on bias tape.  It is simpler, but I like it better than the ribbon roses.  It will less bulky, and therefore, more comfortable than the ribbons roses.  Better for baby is always better.  I also made the matching bloomers for a complete look. 

Here is the back:

5 Responses to "In the Pink (and Green)"

How sweet! And I think the embroidered ribbon was an upgrade over the ribbon roses — I like it much better.

Sweet little dress. I’m sure the mommie of the little one will be delighted!

You make the cutest baby clothes! This one is just TOO sweet!

๐Ÿ™‚

Precious little dress. I may have to make this one too. My son and DDL find out today if they are having a boy or girl. Little girls are much more fun to sew for so I hopeing for a girl.

Gotta love Ottobre and you are the best at tweaking the designs! Really cute!

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

