mermaids

Getting my Geek On

Posted on: 3 July, 09

Are you sick of hearing about how fabulous my Blackberry is?  Sorry.  It is so fabulous that I can’t stop talking about it.  :)  I will do my best to make the post about sewing. 

My Blackberry came preloaded with a “lite” version of Documents to Go.  I cannot imagine trying to compose a major document on my Blackberry.  As much as I love it, I am realistic about its limitations.  The lite version of DtG allows me to read and edit documents, spreadsheets, and PowerPoint presentations that I have downloaded to my BB.  However, I cannot create new documents unless I pay up the $$$ for the full version.  I do not begrudge DtG wanting to make money.  That’s why they are in business.  That does not mean I will not try to take full advantage of the functionality they gave me for free. 

As I began reading this hack on BerryReview.com, the light bulbs were going off in my head like it was Las Vegas.  You can click on the link to read the full hack, but here is the Cliff Notes version.  On the computer, create a blank template that you then download to the BB as “blank template.”  When you want to create a new document on the BB, open up “blank template,” but then save as “whatever you want to call the new document.”  That leaves “blank template” intact to be used again.  DtG views this as editing an existing document. 

Simple brilliance is a beautiful thing. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

