mermaids

Best Supporting Actress

Posted on: 14 July, 09

This project is going to seem tame after the fabrics I shared yesterday.  Those bright fabrics are exactly the reason why I need a few basics in my wardrobe.  As Tim Gunn would say, I don’t want to be “over designed.”  An outfit should have a focal point, a star with a support cast.

I wanted to sew yesterday, but was feeling a little stumped as to what to sew.  There were too many ideas bouncing around in my head.  After going back and forth with different patterns and fabrics, I decided to leave it in the hands of fate.  I closed my eyes and grabbed a piece of fabric.  White silk charmeuse.  Hmmm, what do with white silk charmeuse?  A simple summer top would be great to wear with my cute summer skirts! 

The pattern is an oldie, but goodie, Simplicity 5060.  It is no longer listed on the Simplicity website, which is a shame because it is a great basic pattern.  The only “flaw” with this pattern is that it is all cut on the bias.  Silk charmeuse on the bias is frightful.  The good thing about this pattern is that is all cut on the bias which makes the top fit comfortably and beautifully.  Of course, silk is oh so luscious to wear in the summer heat.

I am so glad fate forced me to make this top.  It will work with so many things in my wardrobe.  Why did I wait so long? 

3 Responses to "Best Supporting Actress"

It’s beautiful! Now that I’m past the spit up stage of motherhood, I am eager to add more silk to my wardrobe. 🙂

Very nice. Throw a jacket over it and you have go-to-school meeting, or whatever event garment!

I need more “support staff” in my wardrobe and this one is a knockout – it deserves the award you bestowed.

Good job – glad for you fate took over. g

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

