mermaids

Something Skew-y is Going On

Posted on: 3 July, 10

4758974542_6ab4eb489d_m[1]The Skew socks have been finished for a while, but I am just now getting around well enough for a photo shoot.   Self portraits of socks are not easy, especially when you can barely bend one knee. 

These socks were not nearly as difficult as they look.  The directions are very well written.  Just keep the faith, follow along, and don’t question the directions.  It will all be fine in the end.  My biggest issue is having a foot much smaller than the size of directions.  Unlike regular socks, which are rather easy to adjust for sizing, these do not allow for much wiggle room in the sizing.  I adjusted by using much smaller needles.  In that respect, it is a good thing that I knit very tightly.  This is the second pair of socks I have made.  If I can make these as my second attempt, they cannot be that difficult. 

4758974824_7d5162f94f_m[1]

Look how cool the swirly part is from the back?  I love things that are not traditional or expected.  These socks definitely fall into that category.  Sorry for the tilt in the photo.  Self portraits are not easy, especially when one is still having difficulty standing for more than a few minutes. 

The yarn?  I should know what kind of yarn it is, but I don’t because I am still learning yarn.  I went to AC Moore and picked one with pretty colors. 

4758336895_2565d2342e_m[1]

Here is another view just because these socks are so much fun.  My tight knitting was good for sizing issues, but less so for wearing issues.  The Skew socks are noted for being snug to pull over the over the instep and heel.  That comes from the band that wraps around the back of the heel.  Given the construction of the sock, there really is no way around that except to not knit as tightly as I do.  (This would be the case where my tight knitting is a bad thing.  I am learning to loosen up a little with the needles.)  Nonetheless, I really like these socks.  I don’t wear socks very much in the summer because I live in flip flops if at all possible.  I never look forward to cold weather, but at least I will have some snazzy socks awaiting me this winter. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

