mermaids

Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Posted on: 16 October, 10

For the last five years, I have not known if one of my best friends was dead or alive.  He was living in New Orleans when Katrina hit.  The problem with storing all of your information on a cell phone is if that cell phone gets washed away, so does the information.  Since we both make it habit to fly under the radar on the internet, we had no way to find each other…. until a few days ago.  I have no idea what made me try Google again, but there it was.  His name.  His phone number. 

As soon as he heard my voice, it was like the last five years never happened.  We picked up right where we left off.  I could tell he wasn't ready to talk about Katrina yet.  I did not press him.  There is time for that story.  He wanted to hear my story.  The story came tumbling out.  He is one of the few people with whom I hold nothing back.  I have known him since I was 14 years old.  He has seen me at my best and at my worst.  We talked a great deal about the twists and turns of my life of the last 32 years.  He said, "The thing that always amazed me about you is that you can be happy no matter what direction your life takes.  Career woman, stay at home mom, criss crossing the country… you are always find a way to be content." 

I had not really given it much thought, but he was right (as usual).  It goes back to that Tim Gunn philosophy of "make it work."  No matter what my circumstances are, I find a way to make it work for me.  I don't consider myself a particularly optimistic person.  In fact, when presented with a decision, I can quickly list all the things that could possible go wrong.  I am great at preparing for the worst, but I always hope for the best. 

When you have lived through really hard times, you know things could much worse.  As long as we have a place to sleep, food on the table, and no one is dying, the rest doesn't really matter.  I like my big, pretty house, but I could be just as happy in a smaller house.  Yes, there are daily annoyances in my life.  I have my moments, but then I remember that it could be so much worse.  It has been so much worse.  My life isn't perfect, but it is better than before. 

My dear old friend knew me when it was worse.  He is one of the few people who know exactly how much I had to overcome.  With everything that has happened in the last few months, the pity party was dragging on too long.  I needed to talk to him, to remember that I have come through much worse.  He has come through much worse. 

For peace of mind, resign as general manager of the universe.

3 Responses to "Don’t Worry, Be Happy"

I’m glad you reconnected with your friend – it must have been quite a load off your mind ! Funny how sometimes it takes one of ‘those’ friends (the ones that know everything about you) to get you back on track.

That is wonderful news Teri. You sound very happy. That makes me happy. Life is wonderful (most of the time)!

I miss your posts! Hope everything is well with you….

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

