mermaids

Herding Mice

Posted on: 16 October, 11

I finally figured out what I should dress up as for Halloween: an organized, intelligent, put-together woman, because I am certainly not one in real life.  All day, it feels like I am herding mice.  Just when I think I have it all together, one of those little suckers slips out and I am frantically scrambling again. 

Things were kind of coming together this week.  I even sewed!  I traced, cut out, and sewed a whole top this week.  (Okay, it is a super simple long sleeve tee, but still… I get credit, right?)  Physical therapy went well on Monday.  PT guy and I were high fivin’ ourselves for busting through a ton of scar tissue, which helped us figure out that the quad tendon is a major issue.  PT guy discovered that he pressed down on the tendon, I could tighten the quad without pain… except for the pain caused by a large hand with a strangle hold on my tendon.  Since it would be awkward to walk around all day with him strangling my tendon, he taped down the tendon really, really tightly.  I could go up and down stairs without pain!  Being a crafty girl, I immediately discussed design options with PT guy.  Within minutes of returning home, I made a band to restrict my tendon… and it sparkles.  (Hey, that’s TWO things I sewed this week!! Extra credit!)

On Thursday, PT guy and I were feeling incredibly bold and daring, thanks to my sparkly tendon band.  For the first time in months, I was back on the leg press.  After a few shaky reps, I worked my way back up to 70 pounds with one leg.    I knew I would be sore the next day.

The next day…. oh my, “sore” I could have handled.  The knee blew up like a puffer fish and oh so painful…. and the school called.  They desperately needed me to work.  I don’t know how I got through the day.  Students even noticed that I was in pain.  When I got home, I soaked in a hot, hot bath with a very large glass of wine, then went to bed, thinking that I had pushed through the worst part. 

Saturday brought a whole new level of pain and swelling.  I am not allowed to take any pain medication in preparation for a series of injections that I might get in the next few weeks.  Going into work pushed back all of my Friday plans to Saturday.  Raging pain blew up my plans to accomplish anything on Saturday.  And that, my friends, is how why my grasp on organization is so tenuous.  Aside from the usual curve balls life can through, I never know when the pain is going to smack me like the world’s biggest dodge ball.

This morning I was determined to salvage something of this weekend.  C wanted to get the new Simplicity pattern for the men’s jacket.  I looked at the JoAnn’s flyer that said McCall’s patterns were on sale, but somehow read that as “Simplicity” patterns.  When C couldn’t find the pattern in the drawer, I hounded the manager to check in the back for any unopened boxes of patterns.  I must have had a crazed look in my eye, because she did find a copy for us.  I decided to treat myself to a jacket pattern too… because they were “on sale.”  We had patterns, found fabric, and had a delightful time looking at everything.  I had the clerk put the fabrics on two tickets so we could use two coupons.  I had thought all of this through carefully.  As we check out, the totals seem high, but it is hard to do math in your head when you have a knee full of hot, stabbing pain.  As we get to the door, I notice the patterns rang up and the normal 40% off price.  I asked a nearby clerk about the sale.  She informed me Simplicity was on sale last week.  “But the flyer…. oh… it says ‘McCalls’… never mind.” 

For a moment, I thought about returning the patterns and returning to buy them when they went on sale.  It kills me to buy them at regular price.  I was annoyed at myself for being so disorganized with the sale dates.  C felt awful that I went out in pain to get this for him.  I decided to keep the patterns.  In the grand scheme of things, the money is not that big of a deal.  There is no guarantee that my knee will be cooperative the next time there is a sale.  C and I will have snazzy new jackets this fall.  Most importantly, we had fun together.  I should just embrace the concept of free range mice. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

