mermaids

Octopus Hat

Posted on: 18 January, 12

J is the boy who asks for nothing.  When asked what he wants for his birthday,  he will usually suggest a book or a video game, but never anything big, complicated or expensive.  I love that he is so low maintenance and easy going, but I always worry that I don't do enough for him.  C loves the handknit socks I have made for him.  J said he really didn't want any.  His Hanes socks work just fine.  So practical.   When I saw the pattern for this octopus hat on Ravelry, I knew I had to make it for him. 

I even paid for the pattern.  With so many free patterns available online, this is the first time I have paid for a knitting pattern.  OK, it was only $3, but I am not sure it was really worth the three dollars.  The directions were lame.  I ended up just doing my own thing and only using the chart for the octopus design.  In hindsight, I could have drawn that myself.  Oh well. 

This was my first attempt at a large scale color work pattern.  I should have made my floats a bit looser.  I tend to knit very tightly.   I must learn to relax more in my knitting.  Color work is really not difficult.  I used a sticky note to keep track on my place ôn the chart.  The knitting went really fast.

The yarn is Palette from Knitpicks.  It is very smooth and knits easily.  I worried about using a fingering weight yarn for a hat.  It is fine, but I think I would use a slightly heavier yarn if I made another one. 

My son LOVES his hat.  It allows him to proudly display his love of cephalopods while staying toasty warm. 

1 Response to "Octopus Hat"

That’s a fabulous hat! 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

