mermaids

Bring on Summer

Posted on: 22 May, 12

DSC02207

Summer sewing is the best.  Or, perhaps, summer is the best season so anything related to summer gets extra points in my book. 

Simplicity 5060 is an older pattern, possibly out of print.  I took the tank top version and made into a halter top.  Not difficult at all.  I cut off the back piece where it meets the front and made an elastic casing.  I lined the upper bodice because the gingham is a tad on the sheer side.  I flipped the tie around so it ties in the center front for a bit more visual interest. 

Fabric is leftover from when the high school did The Wizard of Oz two years ago.  To mimic the black and white opening scene of the movie version, we made exact replicas of everything in black and white, including Dorothy’s iconic blue and white gingham jumper.  I had my doubts, but the lighting, sets, and costumes created an amazing effect.  I had these weird shaped bias cut pieces leftover.  Too small and oddly shaped for a big project.  This halter has been lurking in the back of my head for two years.  Since gingham is “hot” for this summer, it seemed to be time to dig out the scraps and put them to use.

Hopefully the weather will cooperate so I can wear my new top for Memorial Day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Big List of Sewing Blogs

TMI

